Skip to content

Grow where you are planted!

February 20, 2013
This mural was painted by students in the 2012 summer migrant program in Fort Lupton

This mural was painted by students in the 2012 summer migrant program in Fort Luton

I started working for Centennial Board of Cooperative Services (CBOCES) on June 1st. Reflecting on my time here I have to say I have been planted in the place where I am supposed to grow. The people I work with here are so focused on doing what is right for the students and families we work with. I am lucky to be able to work with 12 school districts assisting them with their Consolidated Grants. On the migrant side of my job, I get to work with the entire Northeast region of Colorado 50+ school districts and many students and families. In 24 years of education, I do have to say that I have truly found a place that feeds my passions for education! I have been impressed with the colleges, universities and technical schools that have been willing to partner with us to help provide pathways for our students to post secondary options. We are currently planning a Migrant Youth Leadership Institute for the Northern Region in which we will provide leadership development for approximately 150 students from Northern Colorado. The event will be held on April 16th 2013 at the University of Northern Colorado. Our post secondary partners have played a major role in assisting us with this institute. More to come regarding this event!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

